15 Fascinating Facts You Probably Did Not Know About The Indian Rupee

We know how to detect a fake ₹500 note. We know how RBI is the authority which makes most of the decisions pertaining to cash flow and other such fancy things like Cash Reserve Ratio. We all love money. But do we know enough about it? If you love money, this article is like your lover’s best friend who tells you all their secrets. It will tell you some amazingly interesting facts about the Indian rupee. Read on :

1. 5,000 and 10,000 rupees notes were in circulation between 1954 and 1978


2. After Independence, Pakistan used Indian Rupee notes stamped with ‘Pakistan’ until it could print enough.


3. One rupee notes are issued by the Ministry of Finance and bear the signature of the Secretary.


4. The rupee was the currency of several other countries like Aden, Oman, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, the Trucial States, Kenya, Uganda, the Seychelles and Mauritius in the early 20th Century.


5. ₹500 and ₹1000 notes are banned in Nepal.


6. At one time, 5 rupee coins were smuggled to Bangladesh for making razors.


1 2 3Next page

Related Articles

Back to top button